Why i decided to climb Kili…

Leave a comment Standard

So, reality has started to sink in now, and i am fully aware of what is going to happen in the next 2 weeks. I am going to climb the world’s tallest, free-standing mountain, by myself, in Africa, with no phone signal, no bed, no shower, no toilet and no sky plus. WHAT THE HELL AM I DOING…

It seemed like a really good idea at the time. A fantastic charity, and adventure of a lifetime and Steve will definitely give in and come with me…HMMM DIDNT QUITE WORK AS I’D PLANNED.

It’s all Disney Pixar’s fault.

I didnt want to be like that old couple who wanted to do something all their life, only to find that when they finally got round to doing it, it was too late.

So without much* hesitation (*any) i booked it.

I thought fundraising £2450 was going to be the hard part. WHAT WAS I EVEN THINKING!!  Ive not even made it out of the country yet and im already realising, that for me, the hardest part is going to be my mental attitude. Overcoming the cold, the tiredness and the aching legs and having the willingness to continue to the top. I know i can do it, i just need to make sure i have that belief when i am there..

I thought that reading other people’s blogs and videos would help. In some ways it is comforting, in others, it most definitely is not.

but here i am, with 2 weeks to go, i am frantically trying to do everything i possibly can to prepare myself for what i am going to endure.

will it be good enough – definitely not. will i hate almost every minute of it – definitely yes. Will i try and sign up for another challenge the following year? Try stopping me…

Leave a Reply

