Designer Diving or a Treat for Feet?

Comments 2 Standard

Recently, I took some well needed time off from work and swapped my Manolos for a very different type of footwear, namely my fins, for a 2 week, all inclusive diving holiday to Egypt.

I first started scuba diving in 2008, after booking a holiday of a lifetime to the Maldives, Steve insisted that I couldn’t beat his 2nd love (rugby was his first) and so I either spent 2 weeks in paradise by myself, or I embraced the underwater world and he would teach me how to dive. After stupidly saying when we first met that diving was something I’d always wanted to do, I didn’t really have much of an option other than putting my money where my mouth was.

I was taught in the local diving quarry in North Wales, in a 13 year old wetsuit, that I had very little control over the movement of it. I literally hated every single minute of it, but continued with the promise of the cold and dark, murky water turning into a literal paradise and whole new world as soon as we touched down on the Sun Island Resort, Maldives.

Skip forward 172(ish) dives and its safe to say that I’m extremely glad that I persevered. Although it is fair to say that I absolutely love swapping my heels for fins in the tropical waters of the world, I must admit, cold water diving isn’t really my thing and these days, I do tend to stick to being more of a holiday diver. Having said that, I still manage to own multiple pairs of fins, one pink pair for warm water, a black pair for cold water (when I do venture out) another pink pair that are more suited for diving in a current, and a yellow snorkeling pair, for, well snorkeling! I mean, Marc Jacobs et al is seriously missing a trick here, designer fins is definitely where it should be at!

On the most recent diving holiday, we held awards at the end of the trip, and I am very proud to say that I won the ‘best worn neoprene’ award for my co-ordinated diving attired. The Captain of the Boat we go diving on referred to me for the whole week as ‘Pink Woman’ – I mean, a girls gotta co-ordinate, you never know who you might bump in to!

The one thing I do love about diving holidays is that (although I love my clothes, shoes and handbags as much as the next person) it is always nice to kick back and chill out with, well no shoes. We always go diving now with a company called Divers Lodge who are based in Hurghada. The dive guides are so friendly and knowledgeable and boat staff are amazing, literally the most helpful people in the world, and I cant talk about the diving without mentioning the lunch served on the boat and is the best you’ll find anywhere (no exaggeration!) and the dive sites are awesome. But the best part of it is all is my feet finally get a rest! From the minute you step foot on the boat you enter a no shoe zone, and that is it, for the whole day, my feet are free. Its the most amazing feeling in the world (along with the peace and quiet you get whilst diving with dolphins and turtles and every fish known to man, of course!)

For anyone out there who is in to diving, or wants to give it a try, I would thoroughly recommend Divers Lodge, Hurghada. Not only for an amazing experience, but for the treat for your feet! πŸ™‚

10406454_10152266597823380_7697714683927390307_n

2 thoughts on “Designer Diving or a Treat for Feet?

  1. Ahhh! I have pink fins too! A whole set! I don’t have any other gear yet, but it’s on my Christmas list! I’m just warning you, I’m going to have to ask you about every single dive you’ve ever been on. I’ve only dove in Tennessee (USA) in a cold dark quarry, and then 4 times in St. Croix, USVI. I know diving is going to be a huge part of my life, and I’m so glad I found another blogger who shares my love!

    What’s been your favorite dive so far, and where’s your dream dive?
    XO Phoebe
    takenbythelapels.wordpress.com

    • Oh my life Pheobe, I have literally just seen this!! You are the first person i’ve ever met with pink fins (beside me of course!) – I thought every girl would have them! haha
      They sound like awesome dives, although the quarry does sound cold! Ive done a bit of UK diving – that is how i was taught, but I have to admit, I do prefer the warmer waters! My fave dive has to be in the Maldives, but I couldn’t pick just one, they were all amazing: sharks, turtles, octopus and just soooo much colour!! I would 100% recommend it! Have you any plans to venture further afield next year? I really want to dive the Great Barrier Reef – Ive heard mixed things but I’m trying to reserve judgement and would like to see it for myself πŸ™‚ xx

Leave a Reply

