A Thursday Thought: Why I am going to Make a Wish come true

Leave a comment Standard

The Timehop app told me yesterday that this time last year I posted on my Facebook page that it was 10 days until I left for Africa and started my adventure of a lifetime, climbing Kilimanjaro. This sparked 2 thoughts:

1. I really need to finish writing about it, as I still haven’t updated my blog about summit night.
2. I really need to start thinking about my next adventure.

A few people I know have taken on cycling challenges this year and I have to admit, they have really inspired me. I bought a bike a few months ago for the triathlon I signed up for, but since February I have been plagued with ear infections, so I can no longer take part.

So I have decided that next year I am going to take on a cycling challenge for the Make A Wish Foundation UK.

Why? Well, because life is short. Too short. I want to make sure that the time I have on this Earth is well spent, I want to live life to the full. Not everyone gets the chance to do this. This is why I have picked the Make a Wish Foundation UK – as it is a fantastic charity that grants wishes for children in the UK from the age of 3-17 who are fighting life threatening conditions. Life is what you make it, I want to make what life these children have extra special by contributing to the cause and making their wish come true.

Not that long ago I bought a thing to hang on the wall in our house that said; “Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass, its about learning to dance in the rain.” Well, I definitely need to get out there and learn how to dance fast, as pretty soon its going to chuck it down, and if I cant dance in the rain, how on earth am I going to cycle!

I’m sure that over the next couple of months my training is going to amuse the majority of people I know, so to ensure no-one misses out on the lol’s, I will add a new section to my site and keep everyone in the loop.

Wish me luck – I think I’m going to need it!

For anyone who want to donate a Β£1 or 2, you can visit my JustGiving page here: https://www.justgiving.com/DanielleBarnard

Thank you! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

