Book Review #1: The Charm Bracelet – Melissa Hill

Leave a comment Standard

So, as promised from My Book Challenge, here is book review number one!

This is my very first book review (well, since I was in year 6 at primary school and I had to review the Babysitters club for my homework!) so I promise I will do my very best to not include any spoilers or give too much of the story away. If I do, please feel free to shout at me below!

This is the first book I have read by Melissa Hill and I have to say, I was not disappointed. The mystery of the charm bracelet really got me hooked from the start and I was keen to read on to find out more about its history. I love stories that link all of the characters together and this one did just that (I won’t say how as I’ll be breaking my promise!) but I would say if you liked Love Actually, then you would love this book too.

I got so absorbed in the story that I read it in 5 hours straight. In fact, the story has such an effect on me I decided that I was going to buy my very own charm bracelet and fill it with charms that would tell my life story. So, literally, that minute (I was on a plane and the duty free trolley came past!) I bought myself a new Pandora and my husband bought me my first 2 charms. (A crown because the way I carry on you would think I was royalty – his words not mine! And a present – as it was his gift to me) This type of behaviour is not unusual for me, I get so carried away with books that the fantasies I have been reading I have to turn into my reality – Steve was really screwed when I read the ‘I heart…’ series by Lindsey Kelk – I wanted to travel everywhere Angela had been (and I am very much working my way through the list as we speak!)

Anyway, back to The Charm Bracelet… The story follows Holly, a single parent, living in New York with her son. She was sent a charm bracelet years ago and regularly received charms from a mystery someone, each one commemorating something important in her life. When she discovers another bracelet similar to hers, she makes it her mission to find its owner and return it to them, knowing how precious she considers her own. I won’t spoil the ending, but even though I thought I might have figured it out, I have to admit, even I didn’t manage to work out the whole story – something that is quite rare for me as I over analyse everything. Melissa Hill writes a fabulous story of one woman’s quest – both for the owner of the charm bracelet and her own; add to that the backdrop of Christmas, which coupled with the romance that already exists when writing about New York City – the book in my opinion is a winner.

If you’re a fan of author’s such as Lindsey Kelk, Jenny Colgan and Sophie Kinsella (which I totally am, by the way!) then I would definitely recommend reading The Charm Bracelet. In fact, I’m going to start another Melissa Hill novel very soon.

Leave a Reply

