A Thursday Thought: I QUIT

Leave a comment Standard

So, this week has been one hell of a week. Not all bad, of course, there are many people who are having a much worse week than I am. I know that. I always try to keep perspective, but sometimes, well, it is hard.

So, I’ve decided 2 things.

  1. I am going to rebel and post my Thursday Thought on a Wednesday; because I can.
  2. I am going to QUIT.

I am the most stubborn person I know though, so quitting for me is very hard. In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever quit anything. Well, I quit Morris Dancing when I was 15 but I’m not sure that counts!

I don’t really know what I’m quitting though. I’d say work but, most of the time I really like my job and I need it to keep on fulfilling my New Year’s Resolution (see as much of the world as possible) – it’s like one of the few resolutions I have actually managed to keep.

I could quit the gym, but I need that in order to be able to cycle from London to Paris next year.

I’d say I’d quit spending money, as at least that would be good for me, but to be honest, I need to be realistic!

So I think what I will quit is worrying. Life really is too short to spend so much time being unhappy or worrying about things that, often we can’t even control. Yet we still worry, fret and try to change what we can. And what’s the point. What will be will be, there are plenty of people who don’t have a family, a house or even a job. In many ways I am one of the luckiest people in the world.

So, world, do you hear me, for the first ‘proper’ time in my life – I QUIT, I quit worrying and stressing and fretting. Now stubbornness, don’t you dare let me down. I have said I quit and I will be dammed if anyone tries to stop me!

Leave a Reply

